Grown Up Relationships – What do you do with them?

Here’s another post from Jane at Singleosophy and Are You Friggin’ Kidding Me?

What do you do with a grown up relationship?

 

This is something I’ve been thinking about since I graduated college in 2008. More so now that I actually feel like more of a “grown up” with my own apartment and dating in the big city.

So okay. You’re hanging out with this guy. You’re hanging out quite a bit. Everything is going awesome. You’re not seeing anyone else and positive he’s not seeing anyone else either. What now?

What I mean is- at what point do they become “Boyfriend” or “Girlfriend”?

I didn’t date much in college. I had one serious boyfriend and he just outright said “is it cool if I call you my girlfriend?” and it was done.

How does that happen in grown up land?

Also- the word “Boyfriend” or “Girlfriend” just sounds so silly to me, as an adult.

I know that labels aren’t everything, but let’s face it- most of us (women…..) like the label. It just makes things easier when introducing your partner to someone or when you’re talking about them.

So assuming that we’re going to be labeling things, what the fuck do you do with a grown up relationship?

4 thoughts on “Grown Up Relationships – What do you do with them?

  1. Hi!

    This is such a good question. In my experience it’s a case by case kinda thing. In other words, it really depends on the man. I’ve had the privilege [wait is that what I’m calling it?] of being with the guy who couldn’t spell boyfriend to the one who just said, “I’m being a bad boyfriend.” In the case of the latter I was like whoa, yeah you are. Hold on you’re my boyfriend.

    This single girls advice is speak up. I haven’t always been good it but if there’s something you want to know, ask. And no, answer is an answer.

    XO

  2. Yeah, I’ll usually tell them that I’m being asked out by someone else…and should I tell that someone else “that I have a boyfriend, or what’s going on here?”
    Usually, the threat of competition gets them in line.

Leave a Reply

