If This Is It, Please Let Me Know!!

This post comes from Jane, at Singleosophy.com.

I found this post hilarious and it goes along with the Straight Up post I wrote a bit ago.

And yes- it’s so true.

 

I should probably warn all of you readers that I am the biggest dork on the planet, in that I think Huey Lewis and the News is amazing. Honestly, I tried to drag all my friends to a Huey Lewis and the News cover band gig on Halloween (unsuccessfully- I ended up going alone).

So while I was home alone this evening, I cranked up some Huey and had my own dance party in my living room and my a great blog post came into my head.

First of all, if you’re not familiar, here is the fantabulous music video for ‘If This Is It’.

Alright, so one of my biggest annoyances when it comes to dating is the ending of each new “relationship”. I’ve gone on a lot of dates in the last year, most of them first-and-last dates, but there have been a couple guys that I’ve dated a few times and saw a potential relationship blooming.

And then they just…stop.

No word, no nothing. They take forever to respond to me, if at all. They start cancelling dates or acting really distant during the dates we have. Even though you can’t tell tone in a text message, I can sense that something is off (ie messages that used to be long are now short, no emoticons or “lol”s, etc).

I then get to play the part of the paranoid female, which I hate. I am the chillest girl in that I am not needy or jealous. I’m so laid back that it bites me in the ass all the time. So when a guy does crap like that and makes me have to ask “Hey, are we cool?” or “Do you like me?” or any of those other needy-ish questions, it kills me.

Even worse is when the guy responds with “yea, we’re cool”. IF WE’RE NOT COOL, JUST SAY SO.

Seriously- I would much rather a guy tell me “hey I’m not into you” and hurt my feelings for a day or so than tell me that he’s into me when he’s not and lead me on for much longer. This has happened to me so many times and I just want to strangle every guy that does it.

Honestly, it’s okay if you’re not into me anymore. JUST SAY SO. You’re wasting my time and yours! If you’re just honest with me, I’ll let you go. I don’t want to come off as some crazy chick that keeps texting or calling you when you want me to stop. Tell me to stop!

Say “Hey listen, things aren’t really working for me. Maybe we should move on.” Take the risk of me responding to it like a psycho and then it ending completely or deal with the same amount texts, messages, and phone calls as usual. I’m going to look crazy to you either way, so please choose the first option and let it end. LET IT END.

4 thoughts on “If This Is It, Please Let Me Know!!

  1. I’m now married, but I completely agree with this! Actually, in all parts of life – not just relationships. I’d rather someone just be HONEST and say what they feel. No one likes feeling stupid when the truth actually comes out.

  2. If a guy stops contacting me, I take it as he is not interested and move on. Don’t sit around and think about it. Guys are afraid of a girl going off on him, or even worse, crying. So they do the cowardly tactic of letting you guy. If a guy is interested in you, you never have to question it. He will make sure that you know.

Leave a Reply

